Pie in the sky: leftover roast chicken pie

pie in the sky: roast chicken pie

The husband was dispatched to take care of the ingredients for last week’s supper club. I was too tired, too broke and had run out of every last scrap of inspiration.

I wasn’t surprised when he walked in with a roast chicken. The husband loves a roast chicken. I love a roast chicken. We all love a roast chicken. I was slightly surprised that he’d bought a roast chicken that was bigger than the average turkey. ‘Value,’ he pronounced proudly. ‘Great value compared to the smaller ones.’

It took two and a half hours to cook; supper club was more like breakfast club – but even after us four gannets had done our worst there was still a ridiculous amount leftover. Enough for a pie, no less. And now the evenings are drawing in and there’s a distinct chill in the air, the wind whispering ‘autumn’s here’ as it whistles past, a pie is in order.

Can anything be more pleasurable than stripping down a roast chicken? Especially when you scoop out the oysters, quickly glance over your shoulder to check no one’s looking and then pop them in your mouth. Consider it the cook’s privilege. Don’t worry mum, I washed my hands afterwards!

The husband was right, this chicken was good value. Roast chicken for four, pie for six (one large, two individual) and the stock I will make from the bones in due course – not to mention the gravy, all for £6. I am pretending to myself that this chicken lived in a little wood with plenty of space to roam free and was administered no growth hormones at all. Beggars can’t be choosers, as the saying goes.

pie in the sky: roast chicken pie

Serves: 6

The meat stripped from a large roasted chicken (I had two legs, wings and the odd scrap of breast plus the oysters that may or may not have made it into the pie. Ahem.)

1 punnet mushrooms, peeled and sliced

1 onion, finely chopped

1 glass white wine

A couple of sprigs thyme or rosemary if you have some in the garden

1 tub of leftover chicken gravy (I keep leftover gravy in the freezer)

1 tube pre-rolled puff pastry (no, I don’t make my own. Too time consuming and more expensive)

1 egg, whisked to brush over pastry

Preheat the oven to 200C. Fry the onion and mushrooms until soft, add in the chicken, then pour over the wine and gravy. Leave to simmer for a few minutes, until warmed through. If you have thyme in the garden, chuck in a couple of sprigs while it’s simmering.

Pour into a pie dish (individual or large), then top with a layer of pastry. Use any leftover pastry to decorate your pie top, pierce a couple of times to allow steam to escape while cooking, brush with egg then bake in the oven for 20 minutes until the pastry is crisp and golden brown

Serve with new potatoes and broccoli.

Postscript: I have a huge roast planned to celebrate the start of autumn, so if you are wondering how I go about making roast chicken and/or gravy, then all will soon be revealed!

6 comments
  1. Wait, feeds four, and there’s leftovers for 1 large and 2 small pies – must have been a dino chicken! This sounds great–I usually parse the leftovers up for sandwiches, and set some aside for risotto with preserved lemon. Puff pastry and pie, I’ll have to give it a try. Oh, and the oysters… the oysters… well, you know what I’m talking about. Ken

    • I know, it was the largest chicken I’ve ever seen in my life! And the oysters were spectacular. Usually I make a chicken korma, risotto, chicken salad or a variation on my mum’s pearl barley soup (she makes it with turkey after Christmas)! The preserved lemon risotto sounds amazing, I will definitely try that!

  2. Margaret said:

    Love turning chicken leftovers into yummy chicken pie. Yours looks really good heart shaped. I picked up a little heart dish from Tiger ages ago and haven’t used it – now I know what to do! Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Thanks! I love those Le Creuset dishes – they were a wedding present! X

  3. Annie said:

    looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

